Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish, with a new top ten topic every week. For this week, I decided to write about. . .

Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Characters Who I’d Like to Be!

1. Kami Glass from Sarah Rees Brennan’s Lynburg Legacy series

10866624         Untold

Kami is an intrepid journalist who always speaks her mind. She’s funny and loyal and is determined to fix everyone’s problems. I loved that she was so smart and that she stood up for her friends and family. She always acts first and then considers the consequences later and as someone who’s plagued with constant indecision, I would love to be her! 

2. Blue Sargent from Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle

Raven boys          Dream Thieves

Blue has grown up in a house of physics. Even though she isn’t one, she’s been acting as a signal booster to help her psychic family for a long time. She’s perceptive and independent and never lets herself be outspoken. I love that she can be comfortable living in a house full of physics but be perfectly fine hanging out with a bunch of rich boys without losing any part of her own identity. 

3. Katsa from Kristin Cashore’s Graceling Realm series

Graceling      Fire      Bitterblue

Katsa is a badass. I think that’s why I was drawn to this book. She’s not perfect in any way but she’s strong and it’s rare for me to read a book where the female character gets to be so good at the physical things. Most fantasy books let the male characters have all the good battles and fight scenes, while here Katsa can more than take care of herself.

4. Lola from Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Lola and the Boy Next Door

Oh wow, would I love to be Lola. She is so comfortable in her own skin! I’ve always wanted to be the kind of person to follow my own style without worrying so much about everyone’s opinion of me. Lola unabashedly loves her costumes, and loves doing things her own way. Although she does have her own insecurities, she follows her heart in all her choices. And of course, she has Cricket!

5. Sophie Mercer from Rachel Hawkins’ Hex Hall series

Hex Hall      Demon Glass      Spell Bound

 I love Sophie’s character in the Hex Hall series. She’s a witch at a supernatural reform school after one too many mess ups. The thing I love most about her is the dialogue in these books. Sophie just always has the wittiest comebacks and the perfect amount of snark. She says all the lines that I would end up thinking of two hours after the situation was done and over with. And again, a pretty dreamy boyfriend too!

6. Emerson Cole from the Hourglass series by Myra McEntire

Hourglass      Timepiece      Infinityglass

 I love love love the idea of time travel so I was super excited for this series and it didn’t disappoint! The biggest reason I loved it was Emerson. The dialogue in this book was great and Emerson is everything I would want to be. Smart, pretty and determined. She knows she can help and she does even though she has to make some very difficult decisions along the way.

 7. Clary Fray from Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series

City of Bones      City of Ashes      city of glass

city of fallen angels      city of lost souls       City of Heavenly Fire

I started reading this series right after the first one came out, and I loved Clary. I’ve always wanted to be artistic like she is, and I loved watching her discover about the Shadowhunter world. I definitely have a thing for main characters who can kick ass, so it was fun for me to watch Clary go from essentially a clutz to pretty much a badass. She also definitely holds her own in witty banter and is super brave when it comes to defending her family and friends.

8. Evie from Kiersten White’s Paranormalcy series

Paranormalcy      Supernaturally       Endlessly

Evie is the bubbly kind of character that would be fun to be. She always finds a way to have fun, no matter the situation, and she’s damn good at her job too. Even though she’s young, she knows what she’s doing and doesn’t put up with crap from anyone. Having a pink taser doesn’t hurt either!

9. Celia from The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The Night Circus

 

Honestly, I just wanted to live in this book. The magic was so beautiful and I totally fell in love with Celia’s story. I basically just want to live in a world where the night circus is possible.

10. Sophie Newman from The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series by Michael Scott

The Alchemyst      The Magician      The Sorceress

The Necromancer     The Warlock     The Enchantress

I started reading this series several books in and I remember just devouring them. Sophie was such a realistic depiction of a teenager thrown into this whole other world she knew nothing about. You could feel the wonder and the fear and the responsibility she felt for these new abilities she had. I would have loved to be her while she discovered this whole new side of herself.

 

Bottom line? I’ve discovered that I would love to be a snarky badass who can kick butt while having a great sense of fashion. 😉 It was actually hard to whittle down the list to just 10 characters who I would love to be. That’s the point of reading right? To escape to a new world and a new identity every time. Hope you liked it! Have you read any of these? What character from your favorite books would you like to be? Let me know in the comments!

